Cairns 2011 Australia Day Citizenship Award Winners!

Clive Skarott - Cairns Citizen of the Year

Clive Skarott – Cairns Citizen of the Year

The Cairns Citizen of the Year for 2011 is, Clive Skarott!

Clive is a Member of a Cairns founding family; Foundation Director of Advance Cairns and the Electricity Credit Union (ECU); CEO of the EC and past Chairman of Queensland Ports Association 2000-2010; member of the community who has ensured continual support of Cairns Amateurs, Australian Volunteer Coastguard, Cairns Yacht Club, Festival Cairns and Cairns Indigenous Art Fair; associated with Cairns Junior Cricket and Cairns Post in 2008 named him one of 25 of the Most Influential People in the region.

Junior Citizen - Mark Thompson of Bayview Heights

Junior Citizen – Mark Thompson of Bayview Heights

Junior Citizen of the Year had joint winners Clinton Cave and Mark Thompson

Mark Thompson -2010 Captain Saint Mary’s College and Senior Debating Award winner; winner of the Member for Mulgrave Youth Volunteer Award, Edmonton Lions Award for Outstanding Academic Achievement; Member of YMCA Queensland Youth Parliament and Cairns YEAH! Environmental Committee Chair

Clinton Cave –recipient Order of Australia Youth Citizen Association Award 2010; first swimmer ever in Cairns State High School’s 93 year history to be awarded champion swimmer of the meet for five years of his high school career and three year record winner of 1.5km Green Island Ocean Swim

Culture Award for the Arts – Lone White and Special Commendation-Terry Doyle.

Lone White

Lone White

Lone White – ceramicist and regional arts advocate; representative of the Anti-Discrimination League and coordinator of the Cairns Sister Cities Exhibition

Terry Doyle – mentor of performing artists and creator of a distinct brand of music; co founder of People Advocating for Live Music (PALM); Vice president of the Hamilton State Primary School and Manager of the Queensland Junior in-line hockey team

Volunteer of the Year – James Watson and Special Commendation to Martin Hurst

James Watson – past Treasurer and President of the Port Douglas Neighbourhood Centre; Community Veggie Garden carer; Senior Scoop reporter and Treasurer of Douglas Shire Seniors Incorporated; member of Toastmasters, Port Douglas Rotary and Tangaroa Blue Ocean Care Society

Martin Hurst – Honorary Treasurer of Cairns District Rugby League and the Cairns District Women’s Rugby League; volunteer for his church community and local animal welfare groups

Terry Doyle with Santa

Terry Doyle with Santa

Senior Sportsperson – Chris Sheppard CEO Northern Pride Rugby League Club with a life long career as a player of Rugby League

Junior Sportsperson – Jake Roach and Special Commendation to Mitchell Evans

Chris Sheppard - Sportsperson Winner

Chris Sheppard – Sportsperson Winner

Jake Roach – Captain of the Manunda Hawks AFL undefeated premiership team; team member of Cricket Far North under 19 Rep Team and North Queensland Country Under 19 Rep Team

Mitchell Evans – member Cairns Motorcycle Club representing Queensland and Australia in competition; School Captain Redlynch College Junior School



2 Comments on “Cairns 2011 Australia Day Citizenship Award Winners!

  1. Pingback: Clive Skarrott: Cairns Port can double in size with Entertainment Precinct! « A Force for South Cairns

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: