Queensland Labor candidates firm up for 2015.

Queensland Labor has started sketching out the team it will take into battle at the next election, with party insiders confirming newcomers and old party faithful as being in the mix.

Ashgrove, which is once again shaping up as the most watched seat in the state, still does not have a clear Labor candidate. Former MP Kate Jones, who recently gave birth, is understood to be weighing up her future.

Those who have made up their minds to run largely have experience with the Labor party or its affiliates.

And while former state minister Cameron Dick may be the most recognisable potential candidate, he is not the only familiar name on the list.

Fairfax Media understands former MPs Grace Grace and Di Farmer have stepped forward in an attempt to reclaim the seats they lost in the 2012 election, Brisbane Central and Bulimba.

Stirling Hinchliffe (Sandgate) and Kerry Shine (Toowoomba North) are also returning to the fold, while Linus Power, Leanne Linard and Jessica Pugh will stand in Logan, Nudgee and Mount Ommaney.

Ipswich councillor Andrew Antoniolli and Somerset Regional councillor Jim Madden are tipped to try their hand at state politics in the electorates of Ipswich and Ipswich West while Fiona McNamara and Steven Miles are fighting it out for preselection in Mt Coot-tha.

Michael de Brenni (Springwood), Shane King (Kallangur), Gail Hislop (Burleigh), Paul Keene  (Chatsworth), (Jason Hunt (Caloundra) and Billy Gordon (Cook) round out those who have already won preselection, a process that began late last year.

Current Queensland Senator Mark Furner, whose term finishes in July after losing his seat in the 2013 federal election, has been named as the most likely candidate to stand in Pine Rivers.

Daniel Cheverton is hoping for another chance in Paul Lucas’s old seat of Lytton, now held by the LNP’s Neil Symes, while former policy advisor Mark Bailey is expected to be named as Labor’s candidate for Yeerongpilly.

The seat of Stafford was described by one insider as an “open field” while former Labor seats Greenslopes, Sunnybank, Mundingburra, Pumicestone and Sunnybank are still being decided.
Former ministers Rachel Nolan and Andrew Fraser will not be seeking to return.

On Tuesday, Opposition Leader Annastacia Palaszczuk said other than Desley Scott, who announced she would retire at the next election, her “entire team” of seven current MPs would recontest their seats.
Labor hopes to have its preselection process finished by Easter.

Former Ashgrove MP Kate Jones

Former Ashgrove MP Kate Jones is yet to decide whether she will challenge Premier Campbell Newman in the west Brisbane electorate. Photo: Paul Harris

Read more: http://www.brisbanetimes.com.au/queensland/labor-candidates-firm-up-for-2015-20140311-34kje.html#ixzz2vjNnB300


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: